Wisdom Beat

Eclectic wisdom research

The wisdom of being afraid

By Pamela Ziemann

“Most of us have been taught to ignore our emotions, yet they are one of the best sources of intelligence. If you’re receiving this weekly tip, chances are you have experienced fear when speaking in public. Fear is present when there’s a threat to your physical, emotional or mental wellbeing.

When dealing with fear, ask yourself what the specific threat is.

It never made sense to me that I could hang glide, bungee jump and skydive with less fear than I had before a speech. Then I realized speaking didn’t threaten my physical safety, but my emotional wellbeing. I wasn’t afraid of speaking, but the thought of having something to say and not expressing it. The specific threat wasn’t that the crowd would throw tomatoes at me, but that my expression was being suffocated. When you deny your own authority, you should be afraid!

Then ask yourself what action must I take to be safe?”

Read the article.

August 25, 2009 - Posted by | Wisdom Blog posts

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

